

DATE: November 6, 2019

MEMO TO: Nels Leutwiler, Chair

Executive Committee

Nels Leutwiler, Chair

Preservation Foundation Board

FROM: Rebekah Snyder, Chief Development Officer/Executive Director of the

Preservation Foundation

RECOMMENDATION: Recommend Approval of a Resolution Nominating the 2020 Board of Directors of the Preservation Foundation.

FINANCIAL DATA: No Financial Impact.

BACKGROUND: Under the bylaws of the Foundation, as amended on January 8, 2018, Directors of the Preservation Foundation are elected to a three-year term of service and approved annually by the Voting Members at the Annual Member Meeting. The Foundation's bylaws state the number of Directors should be between 10 and 18 members and should include two Lake County Forest Preserve District Commissioners, as appointed by the President of the Forest Preserves. The bylaws also state the Forest Preserve Executive Director shall be an ex-officio member of the Preservation Foundation Board of Directors with voting rights.

The Board of Directors approves a list of candidates, which may include additions to or deletions from the recommendations of the Board's Executive Committee, if any. The Board of Directors submits its approved list of recommended candidates to the Voting Members for election at the next Annual Member Meeting.

REVIEW BY OTHERS: Rebekah Snyder, Executive Director of the Preservation Foundation, Nels Leutwiler, President of the Preservation Foundation Board.

Candidates for the Preservation Foundation Board of Directors

President (2019 - 2021):

Nels Leutwiler, Civic Leader. Lake Bluff, Illinois.

Vice President (2017 - 2020):

Stephen Braat, Vice President, Cloud & Managed Solutions, CDW. Libertyville, Illinois.

Members (2019 - 2021):

- Elizabeth Hough, Civic Leader. Lake Forest, Illinois.
- Andrea S. Moore, Illinois Pollution Control Board. Libertyville, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Secretary.

Members (2020 - 2022):

- Andrea L. Danks, Government/Community Relations North Shore Gas. Wadsworth, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.
- Mary Vincent, Stakeholder Outreach Strategy Manager, ComEd. Grayslake, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.
- Walter W. Dalitsch, DVM. Civic Leader. Lake Barrington, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.
- Renee Young, Communications Director, Grainger. Mundelein, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.

Members (2017 - 2020):

- Karen M. Hunter, Executive Director, Hunter Foundry Machinery Corp. Barrington, Illinois, Preservation Foundation Board Director.
- John J. Kody, Senior Managing Director, Huron River Partners, LLC. Lake Forest, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.

Members (Concurrent to LCFPD Board Terms):

- Paul Frank, Commissioner, Lake County Forest Preserves. Highland Park, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.
- S. Michael Rummel, Commissioner, Lake County Forest Preserves. Lake Forest, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Treasurer.

Ex officio, voting:

Alex Ty Kovach, Executive Director, Lake County Forest Preserves. Gurnee, Illinois. Preservation Foundation Board Director.

Ex officio, non-voting:

Rebekah Snyder, Executive Director, Preservation Foundation and Chief Development Officer, Lake County Forest Preserves.

STATE OF ILLINOIS)
) SS
COUNTY OF LAKE)

VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION OF THE LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT REGULAR DECEMBER MEETING DECEMBER 10, 2019

MISTER PRESIDENT AND VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION:

Your PRESERVATION FOUNDATION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE and BOARD present herewith "A Resolution Nominating the 2020 Board of Directors of the Preservation Foundation" and request its approval.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:			
Date:	Roll Call Vote: Ayes:	Nays:	
	☐ Voice Vote Majority Ayes;	Nays:	
PRESERVATION FOUNDATION BOARD:			
Date:	Roll Call Vote: Ayes:	Nays:	
	☐ Voice Vote Majority Ayes;	Nays:	

VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION OF THE LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS

A RESOLUTION NOMINATING THE 2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION

WHEREAS, the Preservation Foundation (the "Foundation") bylaws, adopted May 8, 2007 and amended on January 8, 2018, state the number of Directors should be between 10 and 18 members; and

WHEREAS, the bylaws also state that the Board of Directors shall include two Lake County Forest Preserve District Commissioners, as appointed by the President of the Forest Preserves; and

WHEREAS, whereas Lake County Forest Preserves President Angelo Kyle has selected Commissioner S. Michael Rummel and Commissioner Paul Frank to serve on the Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the bylaws state that Lake County Forest Preserves Executive Director Alex Ty Kovach shall be an ex-officio member of the Preservation Foundation Board of Directors with voting rights; and

WHEREAS, the 10 other candidates for the Board of Directors were nominated by the Preservation Foundation Executive Committee;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED, by the Preservation Foundation Board of the Lake County Forest Preserve District, Lake County, Illinois that:

<u>Section 1</u>: <u>Recitals</u>. The recitals set forth above are incorporated as part of this Ordinance by this reference.

<u>Section 2</u>: <u>Election of the Board of Directors</u>. The Voting Members hereby elect 13 members of the board of directors: Nels R. Leutwiler, President; Stephen C. Braat, Vice President; Andrea S. Moore, Secretary; S. Michael Rummel, Treasurer; Andrea L. Danks; Walter W. Dalitsch; Paul Frank; Karen M. Hunter; John J. Kody; Alex Ty Kovach; Elizabeth Hough; Mary Vincent; and Renee Young.

<u>Section 2</u>: <u>Effective Date</u>. This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and approval in the manner provided by law.

PASSED this	day of	, 2019
AYES:		
NAYS:	4	
APPROVED this	day of	, 2019.
		A 1 V 1 C1 : C1 D
		Angelo Kyle, Chair of the Preservation
		Foundation Voting Members
ATTEST:		
Gloria Lopez, Secretary		
Preservation Foundation		