

## LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVES www.LCFPD.org

Preservation, Restoration, Education and Recreation

**DATE:** November 6, 2014

- **MEMO TO:** Pat Carey, Chair Finance and Administrative Committee
- **FROM:** Randall L. Seebach, Director Planning, Conservation and Development
- SUBJECT: Award of Farm Licenses

**RECOMMENDATION:** Approve the award of nine Farm Licenses to the highest qualified bidders.

**BACKGROUND:** The farming program is conducted with local farmers to provide cost-effective, interim land use and management until the District is ready to convert farmland to other forest preserve purposes. Nine of the current license agreements are due to expire on December 31, 2014. The farm licenses were advertised in the News-Sun and bid notices were mailed to thirty four potential bidders. Licenses were advertised for 4-year terms for all parcels. Fourteen potential Licensees submitted bids. The highest qualified bidders for each parcel are noted below:

Site	Term	Acreage	Highest Bidder	Price per Acre
Duck Farm	4 years	77.90	Jeff Bohman	\$156.25
Kettle Grove	4 years	131.30	Jeff Bohman	\$176.25
Mill Creek	4 years	122.20	Jeff Bohman	\$146.25
Pine Dunes – Ben Ley	4 years	54.37	Michael Terry	\$171.50
Prairie Stream	4 years	215.83	Tom and Lynn Doolittle	\$237.00
Prairie Stream - Hay	4 years	52.32	Steve Olson	\$145.00
Raven Glen	4 years	75.60	Crane Grain Farms	\$227.00
Van Patten	4 years	95.25	Michael Terry	\$165.53
Waukegan Savanna - York	4 years	183.81	John Kevek Farms	\$101.00

All of the Highest Bidders listed have farmed Forest Preserve land in the past and have complied with program requirements.

**<u>REASON FOR RECOMMENDATION</u>**: Committee approval is required in accordance with District policy.

**<u>REVIEW BY OTHERS</u>**: Executive Director, Finance Director

**FINANCIAL DATA:** Awarding the nine licenses will generate \$172,740.56 annually, and will be credited to the Farmland Management Fund (28642500-403000). Revenue generated by these licenses in 2014 was \$205,474.76.

**PRESENTER:** Randall L. Seebach

## **APPROVED:**

	YEA	NAY
Pat Carey, Chair		
S. Michael Rummel, Vice Chair		
Sandra Hart		
Aaron Lawlor		
Audrey Nixon		
Diana O'Kelly		
Linda Pedersen		