Homepage - Summer
Jump to Content

Lake County Forest Preserves | Preservation, Restoration, Education and Recreation

Print This Page

Board President Maine, Vice President Pedersen Retain Posts

December 7, 2016 10:00 AM
At a special election on Monday, December 5, the Board of Commissioners elected their new leaders, choosing to retain Ann Maine of Lincolnshire (District 21) for a fourth consecutive term as President of the Lake County Forest Preserves. The Board also re-elected Linda Pedersen of Antioch (District 1) to serve as Vice President. Both will serve two-year terms, which end December 2018.
"I'm very grateful for the trust and support of my fellow Commissioners. Being chosen to serve a fourth term as President of the Lake County Forest Preserves is humbling and rewarding," said Maine. In the coming two years, Maine will work to grow the public’s connection with the Lake County Forest Preserves.

"I see the future as one of public-private partnership. Our collaborative efforts with individuals and other partners are fueled by the public passion for the healthful living that has come to characterize Lake County," added Maine. "It's important to me to encourage an active outdoor lifestyle by promoting the public health benefits of trails, open space, nature appreciation, recreation and cultural experiences." Maine will look for ways to expand partnership opportunities and enhance the role of the Preservation Foundation, the charitable partner of the Lake County Forest Preserves, to help extend and accelerate the District’s work through donations.
During her new term, Maine will continue to guide implementation of the District's 100-year Vision for Lake County to preserve and sustain Lake County’s natural landscape, and extend community outreach and education efforts well into the future.
"I commend our Board's leadership in developing a 100-year Vision in 2014. We serve as principal guardian of Lake County's open space and natural areas, but it is the spirit of leadership and support from Lake County residents – the true owners of this land – that empowers our mission. These beautiful natural lands and trails make the county more livable and the local economy more dynamic," said Maine.
Since being elected in 2002, Ann Maine has held the following leadership positions on the Forest Preserve Board:

  • President since 2010 
  • Chair, Land Preservation and Acquisition Committee (2002-2010) 
  • Vice Chair, Legislative Committee (current) 
  • Member, Ethics Committee (current), Finance and Administrative Committee (2002-2006, 2008-2010), Executive Advisory Committee (2006-2010)
  • Board of Directors and Voting Member, Preservation Foundation of the Lake County Forest Preserves (current)
  • Liaison, Friends of Ryerson Woods Board (current) 
Maine has been a member of the biology department at Lake Forest College since 1994 where she is a Senior Lecturer. She holds an undergraduate degree in biology from Williams College, MA, and received a master’s degree and a doctorate in biochemistry from the University of Rochester, NY. Before joining the Forest Preserve Board she served as a village trustee in Lincolnshire. She is an active member of the Lincolnshire Garden Club. She resides in Lincolnshire with her husband and four sons.
Linda Pedersen was elected as a Forest Preserve Commissioner in 2008 and has held the following leadership positions:
  • Vice President since 2010 
  • Member and Chair, Finance Committee 
  • Chair, Ethics Committee 
  • Chair, Rules Committee 
  • Member, Land Preservation and Acquisition 
  • Voting Member, Preservation Foundation of the Lake County Forest Preserves 

As the newly elected leadership team, they will oversee nearly 31,000 acres of natural lands, 202 miles of trails, 178 full-time, and 317 part-time and temporary employees, and a fiscal year 2016-2017 budget of $71.9 million.
The Lake County Forest Preserves was created by referendum in 1958 and serves as principal guardian of Lake County's open space and natural areas. Its boundaries are the same as those of Lake County. The Forest Preserve District is managed by an elected Board, made up of 21 Commissioners who also serve as members of the Lake County Board.


Media Contacts: Ann Maine, President, 847-367-6640, AMaine@lakecountyil.gov; Alex Ty Kovach, Executive Director, 847-968-3338, akovach@LCFPD.org





close (X)