BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT – REGULAR AUGUST MEETING MINUTES AUGUST 10, 2021

On Tuesday, August 10, 2021, pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the July 23, 2021 Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, the Governor's Executive Order No. 2021-15, and the Written Determination of the Lake County Forest Preserve District President attached to the Agenda, the Lake County Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners met via Audio and Video conference at the County Building, 18 North County Street, Waukegan, Illinois, and at the Lake County Forest Preserve District's General Offices, 1899 West Winchester Road, Libertyville, Illinois.

1.0 Call to Order – President Angelo Kyle called the meeting to order at 10:55 a.m.

2.0 Roll Call of Commissioners – Secretary Shelton called the roll and 20 Commissioners answered Present: Altenberg, Barr, Casbon, Clark, Cunningham, Danforth, Durkin, Hart, Hewitt, Hunter, Kyle, Maine, Parekh, Pedersen, Roberts, Sbarra, Simpson, Vealitzek, Wasik, and Wilke. Absent: Frank.

- **3.0** Moment of Silence Commissioner Durkin led a moment of silence.
- **4.0** Pledge of Allegiance Commissioner Durkin led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 5.0 Addenda to Agenda None
- 6.0 Public Comment (for items not on the agenda) None

7.0 President's Report, Appointments, Announcements and Special Recognition

- Proclamation honoring Patricia Jones for her service as Waukegan Township Supervisor for six consecutive terms starting in 1997.
 EXHIBIT NO. 5771
- President Kyle nominated Commissioner Vealitzek to be the Forest Preserve representative on the Route 53 Task Force.
- President Kyle appointed Commissioner Clark as the Lake County Forest Preserves Liaison to the Illinois Association of Park Districts. Roll call vote being had, the appointment passed by a roll call vote of: **AYES: 20, NAYS: 0**.
- District Staff is in the process of developing the proposed 2022 budget. In September Executive Director Kovach and Finance Director Neaman will review the proposed FY 2022 budget with President Kyle and Finance Chair Simpson in preparation for the October 4th Joint Committee Meeting.
- 8.0 Unfinished Business None

9.0 Consent Agenda:

- 9.1 Approve Minutes of July 14, 2021 meeting
- 9.2 Approve a Resolution Awarding a Contract for Millennium Trail Pavement Reconstruction at Kestrel Ridge Forest Preserve to Chicagoland Paving Contractors in an Amount not to Exceed \$200,000.00. EXHIBIT NO. 5772

Public Comment was given by Grant Benjamin, of Squaw Creek, in unincorporated Ingleside. He commented on agenda item 9.2, questioning why the District has to fund this project instead of ComEd.

Vice President Wasik requested pulling item 9.2 from the Consent Agenda to ask a question.

Motion by Commissioner Roberts, second by Commissioner Hart to approve the Consent Agenda, item 9.1. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: **AYES: 20, NAYS: 0**.

Motion by Commissioner Roberts, second by Commissioner Hart to approve item 9.2. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: **AYES: 20, NAYS: 0**.

10.0 Reports of Standing and Special Committees:

10.1 Ordinance Amending the General Use Ordinance, Section V.D. (xx) – Regulation of Personal Conduct

Motion by Commissioner Vealitzek, second by Commissioner Roberts to approve an Ordinance amending the General Use Ordinance banning smoking in the District Dog Exercise Areas. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: **AYES: 17, NAYS: 1, PRESENT: 2. EXHIBIT NO. 5773**

10.2 Resolution Approving Award of Contract for Enhanced Monitoring and Recovery Activities Services to Chicago Botanic Garden

Motion by Commissioner Vealitzek, second by Commissioner Cunningham to Approve a Resolution awarding a Contract for Enhanced Monitoring and Recovery Activities Services to Chicago Botanic Garden for the Rare Plant Recovery Project in the Contract Price of \$30,000.00. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: **AYES: 20, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5774**

10.3 Resolution Approving a Contract with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for the Lake Plain Invasive Plant Strike Team Project

Motion by Commissioner Vealitzek, second by Commissioner Roberts to Approve a Resolution Approving a Contract with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for the Lake Plain Invasive Strike Team Project for payment to the District of up to \$110,000.00 from grant funds awarded under the US EPA's Great Lakes Restoration Initiative, for restoration work to be performed by the District. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 20, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5775

10.4 Resolution Approving an Easement Agreement with the County of Lake

Motion by Commissioner Wilke, second by Commissioner Hunter to Approve a Resolution approving an Easement Agreement with the County of Lake for County storm sewer improvements and construction of Permanent District Improvements at Cuba Marsh Forest Preserve. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: **AYES: 20, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5776**

11.0 Petitions and Correspondence - None

12.0 Miscellaneous Business

- Vice President Wasik provided information on Hike Lake County.
- Commissioner Maine complimented the virtual presentation on the work at Grant Woods that she attended.
- 13.0 Closed Session None
- 14.0 Potential Action following Closed Session None

Adjournment – There being no further business before the Board, President Kyle declared the 15.0 meeting adjourned at 11:37 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Maureen E. Shelton, Assistant Board Secretary 9-14-2021 Date Approved

Maureen E. Shelton, Assistant Board Secretary

ROLL CALL

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT REGULAR

SESSION,

20<u>21</u>

36

.

August 10

STATE OF ILLINOIS) COUNTY OF LAKE)

	RC	UL								_		ESTIC	DN8					_					
	CALL		COMMISSIONERS	Appen	torents	9. Cons Agu	9.1 Consent Agunda		9:2 Millenniw Trail Pavement Reconst				Contract		10.3 WDNR Contract		7 unt 1+. 7			2		1.4	1
-	P	A		Аув	Nay	Aya	Nay	Aye	Nay	Аув	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye N	By /	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay
1	\checkmark		Altenberg, Marah	1		1				✓	_			\checkmark		~/			_				
2			Barr, Dick	/		~	1				\checkmark	\checkmark		\checkmark		Y A							
3	\checkmark		Casbon, Carissa	/		~		1		\checkmark		\checkmark											
4	\checkmark		Clark, Jennifer	1		\checkmark		\checkmark		~		1		\checkmark	_	1							
5	\checkmark		Cunningham, Mary Ross	V	4	\checkmark		~	÷	/		/				/							
6	\checkmark		Danforth, Michael	1		~		V	/	Pres	ent	\checkmark		\checkmark		V							
7	~		Durkin, Bill	\checkmark		V		/		/		1		\checkmark		V							
8		X	Frank, Paul								-				_	-			-		-		
9	\checkmark		Hart, Sandra	\checkmark		\checkmark		\checkmark		\checkmark		\checkmark		\checkmark	/	~							
10			Hewitt, Diane	\checkmark		\checkmark	1	/	,	/		\checkmark		\checkmark		~							
11	\checkmark		Hunter, J. Kevin	\checkmark		V				Pres	ent	~		\checkmark	,	V							
12			Kyle, Angelo	V		/		\checkmark		/		\checkmark		\checkmark		V							
13	\square		Maine, Ann	\checkmark		~		>		\checkmark		\checkmark				/							
14			Parekh, Paras	\checkmark		~		>		/		/		\checkmark		\checkmark							- *:-
15	\checkmark		Pedersen, Linda	1		~				/		\checkmark		\checkmark		1				1			
16			Roberts, Gina	\checkmark		\checkmark		\checkmark		/		\checkmark				/							
17		1	Sbarra, Catherine	\checkmark				~		/		1	/	\checkmark									
18	V		Simpson, Julie	1		\checkmark	/	\checkmark		-		\checkmark	,	\checkmark		V.							
19			Vealitzek, Jessica	1		\checkmark		/		~		~	,	\checkmark	/	1							
20			Wasik, John	1		1.	/	/		\checkmark		v .		\checkmark		1							
21			Wilke, Terry	1		1		/		~		/		\checkmark		V							
()	20			20	0	W	0	20	0	17	1	20	0	20	0	20 Û							
PRE	SKI	Ţ	Notes:							2 PRE	أنحمو	3						15) - ()					

1