BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT – REGULAR MAY MEETING MINUTES MAY 10, 2022

The Board of Commissioners of the Lake County Forest Preserve District met on Tuesday, May 10, 2022 at the County Building, 10th Floor, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.

1.0 Call to Order – President Angelo Kyle called the meeting to order at 12:17 p.m. President Kyle stated that he received notices from Commissioners Paul Frank and Linda Pedersen in accordance with the District's policy on electronic meeting attendance, requesting to attend the meeting electronically because of personal illness or disability. Hearing no motion to determine that the notices did not comply with the District's policy, Commissioners Frank and Pedersen were declared present (via Zoom).

2.0 Roll Call of Commissioners –Board Secretary Gragnani called the roll and 19 Commissioners responded present: Altenberg, Casbon, Clark, Cunningham, Danforth, Frank, Hewitt, Hunter, Kyle, Maine, Parekh, Pedersen, Roberts, Sbarra, Simpson, Snarski, Vealitzek, Wasik and Wilke. Commissioner Hart arrived after the roll call at 12:30 p.m. Commissioner Barr was absent.

3.0 Moment of Silence – President Kyle led a moment of silence.

- **4.0** Pledge of Allegiance Commissioner Snarski led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 5.0 Addenda to Agenda None

6.0 Public Comment (for items not on the agenda) – Public Comment was made by Shawn T. White, Zion, Illinois regarding a workplace safety matter.

7.0 President's Report, Special Recognition and Committee Appointments:

- Proclamation recognizing Thomas Druce-Hoffman for 30 years of service. **EXHIBIT NO. 5867**
- Appointments: Jennifer Clark as Chair of the Rules Committee; Mary Ross Cunningham as Vice Chair of the Operations Committee; Commissioner Steve Snarski to the Operations, Rules, and Ethics Committees, and a member of the Preservation Foundation of the Lake County Forest Preserves. Voice vote being had, the appointments were unanimously
- Lake County Stormwater Management Commission selected a project idea for wetland restoration at Grainger Woods for further evaluation for funding via the Wetland Restoration Fund. This will require a wetland delineation, which will be added to the CIP;
- Preservation Foundation received a \$200,000 grant from a private foundation to support Phase 1 of the education facility at Ryerson Woods.

8.0 Unfinished Business – None

- **9.0** Consent Agenda Motion by Commissioner Maine, second by Commissioner Altenberg to approve the Consent Agenda items 9.1 through 9.3.
 - 9.1 Approve Minutes of April 12, 2022
 - 9.2 Approve a Resolution Awarding a Contract to Purchase a Forestry Mulcher to West Side Tractor Sales Company in the Contract Price of \$34,640.00. **EXHIBIT NO. 5868**
 - 9.3 Approve a Resolution Awarding a Contract for the Growing of Pollinator Plants to Pizzo Native Plant Nursery, LLC in the Contract Price of \$52,680.16. EXHIBIT No. 5869

Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 18, NAYS: 0

Commissioner Hart joined the meeting at 12:30 p.m.

10.0 New Business – Report of Standing and Special Committees:

10.1 Ordinance Amending Personnel Policy 4.8 - Leave of Absence Without Pay Motion by Commissioner Simpson, second by Commissioner Hunter to Approve an Ordinance Amending Personnel Policy 4.8 – Leave of Absence Without Pay. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 19, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5870

10.2 Resolution Approving Plat of Easement from Vernon Township

Motion by Commissioner Wilke, second by Commissioner Altenberg to Approve a Resolution Approving a Plat of Easement from Vernon Township for a Permanent Trail Easement for the Des Plaines River Trail at Half Day Forest Preserve. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 19, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5871

Commissioners Hart and Parekh left the room at 12:35.

10.3 Resolution Awarding Contracts for Phase 1 Construction of Education Facility Motion by Commissioner Wilke, second by Commissioner Maine to Approve a Resolution Awarding ten (10) Contracts for Construction of Phase I of the Education Facility at Edward L. Ryerson Conservation Area. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 17, NAYS: 0. EXHIBIT NO. 5872

11.0 New Business – Other Business:

11.1 Motion to Proceed with Grant Application to Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity for Adlai E. Stevenson Historic Home

President Kyle made opening comments and Executive Director Kovach summarized the policy direction memo, noting that consensus of the committees was not reached and staff needed to know in which direction to proceed. He reviewed two options that reflected the committees' recommendations. Several Commissioners commented and Public Comment was given by:

- Steve Carlson spoke in favor of applying for and accepting the grant.
- Jeanne Sylvester, Long Grove, spoke in favor of accepting the grant and preserving the site.
- Susan Benjamin spoke in favor of preserving the site.
- Lisa DiChiera, representing Landmark Illinois, spoke in favor of accepting the grant to address prioritized repairs.
- Catherine Lambrecht, Highland Park, spoke in favor of preserving the site.

Following additional comments by Commissioners, there was a motion by Commissioner Wilke, second by Commissioner Simpson to proceed with a grant application to the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity for the Adlai E. Stevenson Historic Home. Roll call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 20, NAYS: 0. **EXHIBIT NO. 5873**

11.0 Petitions and Correspondence - None

- 12.0 Miscellaneous Business None
- 13.0 Closed Session None
- 14.0 Potential Action following Closed Session None
- **15.0** Adjournment With no further business before the Board, President Kyle declared the meeting adjourned at 2:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Maman Julie Gragnani, Board Secretary

6-14.2022

Date Approved

ROLL CALL

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT

REGULAR MAY 10 SESSION, 2022

STATE OF ILLINOIS) COUNTY OF LAKE)

			DLL		QUESTIONS																			
		CALL		COMMISSIONERS	Consent Agenda		10, 1		10.2		Oking 1		[11.1 Motión		,		ü		18.0 5				-	
-	_	Р	A		Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay	Aye	Nay
•	1	V		Altenberg, Marah		1							V									-		
	2	2	χ	Barr, Dick	-			_																
	3	\checkmark		Casbon, Carissa	V							5	1								_			·
		\checkmark		Clark, Jennifer	V		ν.					-	\checkmark								- 1			
	4 5	\checkmark		Cunningham, Mary Ross	\checkmark								\checkmark											
	6	\checkmark		Danforth, Michael	1								\bigvee											
	7	\checkmark		Frank, Paul		-					-													
	8		X	Hart, Sandra wit 30			V		1				V											
	9	\checkmark		Hewitt, Diane	\checkmark					-			\checkmark	-										
	10	\checkmark		Hunter, J. Kevin	\checkmark								\checkmark		-					- T.				
0	11	\checkmark		Kyle, Angelo	\checkmark		61						\checkmark											
-	12	\checkmark		Maine, Ann	V								V											
7	13	\checkmark		Parekh, Paras	\checkmark						-	-	V											
	14	\checkmark		Pedersen, Linda	V								\checkmark								-			
2	15	\checkmark		Roberts, Gina	V								\checkmark											
	16	\checkmark		Sbarra, Catherine	1								\checkmark											
	17	\checkmark		Simpson, Julie	\checkmark								\checkmark											
	18	\checkmark		Snarski, Steve	V								\checkmark											
_	19	\checkmark		Vealitzek, Jessica	V								\checkmark								- A			
	20	\checkmark	,	Wasik, John	1		1.						V											
	21	V		Wilke, Terry	V																			
		19	2	TOTALS	18	0	19	0	19	0	17	0	20	0					_					
				Notes: H A RT IN 12:30			LEAN PLU 41A	5	LEAN PLI HA/		ſ											- 41-4 - 41-4		
PAREKH OUT 12:35 Le												us F	arek	h	Nart Pau	- în 1 Fra	12: up	45 pi back	n. Cor	Zoon	_ lá	1,50	ср.	