Lake County Forest Preserves Legislative Committee Meeting Minutes November 1, 2021

On Monday, November 1, 2021 pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the October 15, 2021, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation and the Written Determination of the Lake County Forest Preserve District President, the District's Legislative Committee met via audio and video conference and at the District's General Offices, 1899 West Winchester Road, Libertyville, Illinois.

- **1.0** Call to Order -With a quorum present, Chair Clark called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.
- **2.0** Roll Call Committee Secretary Shelton called the roll and three committee members responded: Jennifer Clark, Chair; Linda Pedersen and Jessica Vealitzek. Absent: Paras Parekh and Vice Chair Gina Roberts.

Also Present:

Angelo Kyle, President	Nan Buckardt	Maureen Shelton
Carissa Casbon	Mary Kann	Matt Norton, Corporate Counsel
Julie Simpson	Rebekah Snyder	Mike Grady, Legislative Consultant
Alex Ty Kovach	John Tannahill	
Mike Tully	Debbie Boness	

- Jim Anderson Kim Mikus
- **3.0 Pledge of Allegiance** Chair Clark led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- **4.0** Addenda to the Agenda None
- **5.0 Approval of Minutes** Motion by member Pedersen, second by member Vealtitzek to approve the minutes from the May 3, 2021 and July 27, 2021 Legislative Committee. Roll Call vote being had, the motion passed by the following vote: AYES: 3; NAYS: 0.
- **Public Comment** Chair Clark asked if there was anyone attending who wished to provide public comment for items not on the agenda. There were no responses.
- **7.0 Correspondence** None
- **8.0 Unfinished Business** None
- 9.0 New Business
 - 9.1 Recommend approval of a Resolution approving the 2022 Legislative Program for the Lake County Forest Preserve District. Motion by member Vealtizek, second by member Pedersen to approve the recommendation. Executive Director, Ty Kovach explained the minor changes, noting that that the Purchasing legislation was removed from the program because this bill passed. Being added to the 2022 Legislative Program is the State Park and Recreational Facility Grant program and the Federal Conserving and Restoring America the Beautiful. He then gave an update on the District's maximum tax rate legislation and a discussion ensued. Roll Call vote being had, the motion passed by the following vote: AYES: 3; NAYS: 0. The recommendation was forwarded to the full Board for approval.
 - 9.2 <u>State Legislative Update.</u> Legislative consultant Mike Grady provided an update on the recent veto session and the upcoming state legislative session.

11.0 **Closed Session** – None 12.0 **Potential Action Following Closed Session** – None **13.0 Adjourn** – With no further business, Chair Clark declared the meeting adjourned at 11:47 a.m. **APPROVED: Yea** <u>Nay</u> **Yea** <u>Nay</u> $\sqrt{}$ Jennifer Clark, Chair Linda Pedersen $\overline{\mathbf{A}}$ Jessica Vealitzek Gina Roberts, Vice Chair $\overline{\mathbf{Q}}$ Paras Parekh

Legislative Committee Secretary's Note: Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the February 4, 2022, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation and the Written Determination of the Lake County Forest Preserve District President, the Legislative Committee met via audio and video conference on Monday, February 28, 2022. These Minutes were approved by a Roll Call vote at that meeting:

AYES: 3 (Clark, Parekh, Vealitzek)

Miscellaneous Business – None

NAYS: 0

10.0

ABSENT: 2 (Pedersen-absent, Roberts-joined meeting after the vote)

Maureen E. Shelton Committee Secretary