Lake County Forest Preserves Finance Committee Minutes – January 7, 2021

On Thursday, January 7, 2021, pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the December 11, 2020 Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, the Governor's Executive Order No. 2020-74, and the Written Determination of the Lake County Forest Preserve District President attached to the Agenda, the Finance Committee met via Audio and Video conference and at the Lake County Forest Preserve District's General Offices.

- **Call to Order** Chair Julie Simpson called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.
- **2.0** Roll Call Committee Secretary Gragnani call the roll and eight committee members responded: Carissa Casbon, Michael Danforth, Paul Frank, Vice Chair; Sandy Hart, Judy Martini, Paras Parekh, Julie Simpson, Chair; and John Wasik. Commissioner Ann Maine joined the meeting at 1:08 p.m.

Also Present:

Angelo Kyle, President	Jim Anderson	Laurel Diver
Gina Roberts	Nan Buckardt	Debbie Boness
Alex Ty Kovach	Katherine Hamilton-Smith	Andrew Osborne
Mike Tully	John Nelson	Julie Gragnani

Steve Neaman Rebekah Snyder Matt Norton, Corporate Counsel

Mary Kann Jim Siefken

- **3.0 Pledge of Allegiance** Member Martini led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- **4.0** Addenda to the Agenda None
- **5.0 Approval of Minutes** Motion by member Casbon, second by member Martini to approve the minutes of November 5, 2020. Roll Call vote being had, the motion passed by a vote of: AYES: 8; NAYS: 0.
- **6.0** Public Comment None
- **7.0** Executive Director Comments Executive Director Kovach reported on:
 - Education Department's virtual education and museum programs;
 - Positive response to this year's Hike Lake County Program;
 - Retrofitting former beach house and grounds at Independence Grove into a seasonal beer garden;
 - Confirmation from anonymous donor for matching funds up to \$50,000 for the Clean Energy Foundation Grant recently awarded for Solar Array System at Ryerson Welcome Center;
 - Year-end fundraising summary;
 - The District ended 2020 with an incident rate of 4.44%, compared to a high of over 11% when the current safety program began. Staff responded to questions and a discussion ensued.
- **8.0** Correspondence None
- 9.0 Finance
- 9.1 <u>Monthly Financial Report</u> Finance Director Steve Neaman summarized the financial report for month ending November 30, 2020. He noted that the District received \$290,000 in reimbursement for Covid PPE, computer equipment, and sick time granted through the CARES Act, which will show up in the next report. He responded to questions from the Committee.

Mr. Neaman reported on an opportunity to re-issue the 2010 Series A and B bonds, which could result in a net savings of nearly \$10 million and an annual \$800,000 reduction to the debt service payment. He anticipates an Ordinance coming to the Board for approval in March, and call the bonds in June. Mr. Neaman responded to questions from the Committee and a discussion ensued.

Mr. Neaman gave a summary of vacant and unfilled positions totaling about \$600,000 that are being held. and a potential estimated \$600,000 savings in vacant and unfilled positions and the criteria that would need to be met in order to start filling them. He also explained plans to proceed now in filling two maintenance positions.

- 10.2 Recommend approval of Resolution approving one-year Collective Bargaining Agreement with Fraternal Order of Police Motion by member Frank, second by member Parekh to approve the recommendation. Chief Operations Officer Mike Tully summarized the negotiated terms of the one-year agreement, with additional information provided by Human Resources Manager Laurel Diver. The salary increase will be 2.25% across the board and a 3.5% anniversary step increase for officers not at top pay. Staff responded to questions and a general discussion ensued. The motion to approve passed by a roll call vote of: AYES: 9, NAYS: 0. The recommendation was forwarded to the full Board for approval.
- 10.3 Recommend approval of Ordinance Approving One-year Renewal of License Agreement with Adlai Stevenson Center on Democracy for Use of the Adlai E. Stevenson II Historic Home Motion by member Martini, second by member Wasik to approve the recommendation. Director Kovach summarized the one-year renewal of the license agreement, as allowed per the terms of the original agreement. This will bring the new license expiration to February 28, 2022. Mr. Kovach commented on long-term maintenance and noted that this one-year renewal will not impede the decision making process regarding the life cycle of the building. a general discussion ensued. Committee members made comments and Chief Development Officer Rebekah Snyder added that grant opportunities were explored for this site but nothing has materialized. Director Kovach noted that a long term plan for the site needs to be determined before committing to grants, which would require matching funds. After discussion, the motion to approve passed by a roll call vote of: AYES: 9, NAYS: 0. The recommendation was forwarded to the full Board for approval.
- 11.0 Miscellaneous Business None
- 16.0 Closed Session None
- 17.0 Potential Action Following Closed Session None
- **18.0** Adjournment With no further business, Chair Simpson declared the meeting adjourned at 2:18 p.m.

FINANCE COMMITTEE MINUTES – JANUARY 7, 2021

APPROVED:

	<u>Aye</u>	Nay		<u>Aye</u>	Nay
Julie Simpson, Chair	_ ⊡∕		Ann B. Maine	ď	
Paul Frank, Vice Chair	_ U		Judy Martini		
Carissa Casbon	<u> </u>		Paras Parekh	ď	
Michael Danforth			John Wasik		
Sandy Hart	· 🗹				

Finance Committee Secretary's Note: Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the January 8, 2021, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, the Governor's Executive Orders No. 2021-1 and Written Determination of the Lake County Forest Preserve District President, the Finance Committee met via audio and video conference on Thursday, February 4, 2021. These Minutes were approved by a Roll Call vote at that meeting:

AYES: 9 (Casbon, Danforth, Frank, Hart, Maine, Martini, Parekh, Simpson, Wasik)

NAYS: 0 ABSENT: 0

Committee Secretary