The Adlai E. Stevenson Historic Home was built in 1938 by Adlai E. Stevenson II and his wife, Ellen Borden. In 1969 most of the property was sold to Edison Dick, a longtime friend of Stevenson. In 1974, the Dick family donated the estate to the Lake County Forest Preserves.
The home is located in Captain Daniel Wright Woods Forest Preserve with separate parking available on Saint Mary's Road just north of the preserve's main entrance.
National Historic Landmark
The Stevenson Home has been designated a National Historic Landmark (NHL) by the United States Secretary of the Interior in honor of prominent 20th century statesman Adlai E. Stevenson II, who played a major role in the Cold War. The Stevenson Home is one of only four sites in the 2014 set of designations. It joins 2,540 other sites across the country recognized as places that possess exceptional value and quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. There are 86 National Historic Landmarks located in Illinois. The estate is also a designated Illinois Historic Site and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Self-guided trails around the property are open 6:30 am–sunset, daily. Interpretive signs provide historical information about the site. The peaceful setting allows visitors to experience the historic landscape similar to how it appeared when Stevenson lived at the house.
The service building houses exhibitions about Stevenson's life and career, and is open 9 am–5 pm, daily, April–October. Toilets are available when the service building is open.
Our Cultural Resources staff lead public tours of the grounds and home throughout the year. Learn more.
High school and community groups can arrange for a guided tour. Call 847-968-3422 for details.